Tony and I have been together almost 11 years.  Over the course of those years our love has weathered its share of rough patches, but has also witnessed some really amazing moments.  The one thing that has remained constant though, over a decade of time, has been the solid foundation of friendship that all this other craziness rests upon.  I turn to him when I’m at my most vulnerable because he’s a great sounding board and can always help me see the rational in what I always make out to be the irrational.  And I turn to him when I’m so full of happiness that I’m about to burst.  Because he’s the first person I want to share that with as well. 

In sum, at the end of the day, he’s still the one who brings a special recipe of joy to my life.  So in honor, I thought I’d share with you what “Katie and Tony Love” is.

  • It’s him referring to your eyes as “Peepers” or your head as a “Noodle” just because he knows it makes you laugh.
  • It’s if you were to ask him to take off his shoes, you’d already know his socks won’t match.
  • It’s him letting you use his sleeve when you have a runny nose.
  • Knowing exactly what you were wearing when he first asked you out, what trees you’ve made out against, and what bridge holds your carved names.
  • It’s your own original spin on pinky swear promises.
  • It’s experimenting with countless ways to turn a bedsheet into a Halloween costume.  Every single Halloween.
  • How everytime he’s driving far you make him promise to wear his seatbelt.
  • It’s when he tells you how sexy you look in the middle of the aisle at the grocery store while you’re picking out the right jar of spaghetti sauce.
  • It’s him making up different lyrics to every song on the radio.
  • It’s seeing different colored bandanas mixed in with your laundry.
  • It’s arguing over the correct pronunciation of the words “milk” and “oppussum.”

There are so many, many more, but when it all comes down to it — it’s all the laughing we do together.  All the silliness and goofy shenanigans we pull at the end of a long day.  It’s transitioning from kids into adults together.  It’s a partner.  A friend.  A person who I’m excited to spend the rest of my life with.

