I learned an important lesson this past week.  The lesson being that I need to start loving flowers like carnations instead of flowers like hydrangeas.  Because hydrangeas, it turns out, are a huge vacuum cleaner to the savings account.

I finally met with a florist on Monday and we discussed my vision for the reception decor and my bridal bouquet.  And somehow, over the course of a 2 hour appointment, the conversation ended with me having one sole flower – can you guess?  oo, oo…try and guess!

My bouquet was to be all white hydrangeas.  The table centerpieces, along with manzanita branches, were to have white hydrangeas.  Apparently, she was all about me having the hydrangeas.  I’m not sure how I feel.  Hydrangeas are one of my favorite flowers.  I love the poofiness and soft shape.  I also love the them for a winter wedding.  And I think I even allowed her to sell me on the “one” flower theme because it’s a little dramatic having a focal point flower.

But then the cost estimate came.

Let me first start off by saying that I went into the meeting with a clear decision to keep it simple.  We aren’t doing boutinerres.  There won’t be flowers for the mothers and grandmothers.  The tables will be branchy and there will be lots of candlelight.  Not only will it be winter, but it’s also a venue that has its own beautiful look.  So we can get away with minimal flowers.  So when I went in, I knew we’d only need about 5 flowers per table.  Somehow this has translated into a $2,000 bill.

Fun fact: did you know hydrangeas are about $15.00 a head? 

I’m definitely going to get another opinion.  The florist was nice, but I didn’t feel like she had a clear vision.  I also feel like I’m being ripped off.  Wish me luck.  Or else you’ll be forced volunteering to help put together elaborate floral centerpieces at 3 in the morning the night before the big day. 

Eloping in Vegas is looking more and more like a real possibility.

