You know, I spend so much time on this blog being a cheeky, young thang that I forget you probably think I’m either totally fake or one superwoman with the good attitude and all.

Like everyone, I have my up’s and down’s.  I can be a total pain in the ass to live with and, in turn, so can Tone.  I could possibly, maybe be accused of a little bit of nagging (somewhere Tony is sitting at a desk in Chicago and just got a cold shiver up his spine.  Don’t worry Tony, I won’t nag you about that damn coffee cup you spilled on the counter this morning.  And left for me to clean.)

And I think I might just have gotten the point across as to why it’s not always easy living with him.

So, basically, the point is – we aren’t perfect.  Life isn’t always a big joke and a bunch of punchlines as I play it off on this blog.  We bicker.  We argue.  Sometimes we aren’t nice.

New Year’s Eve was a bit of a disaster.  Things started off alright.  It was all “Hurray! We’re newlyweds, celebrating our first New Years.  I’m so thankful for you and your love.  And world peace!  And throw in puppies!  Ohh unicorns and rainbows and blah, blah, blah…we’re just so on cloud nine!”

We made it to the bar, where we were having a great time, surrounded by a good 20 of our friends.  Then things took a turn for the…irritable.  It’s too long to rehash, however, the end of the night ended with us sitting in his car, having a screaming match at 11:57.  As I watched the clock hit midnight,  instead of kissing the love of my life, I kicked his dashboard and stormed out of his car, making my way down the sidewalk in negative degree weather with a hoodie and a pair of 4 inch heels.  I’ve never given you any reason to believe I’m dramatic, have I?

New Year’s Day was spent avoiding each other after we slept in different bedrooms.  He holed himself up in his art room and I laid in bed staring at the ceiling for longer than I care to admit.  I think I finally had enough sense to make myself some breakfast around the time the sun went down.  It was  a pretty shitty day,  is all.

We finally talked about it and said our apologies and shared a January 1st – New Year’s kiss.  I won’t pretend that I’m not disappointed that it wasn’t at the stroke of Midnight, surrounded by cheering and Auld Lang Syne, but what can you do…

Why am I telling  you all this?  Because it’s important to remember we’re all a bunch of idiots still navigating this thing called love.

Tony and I will never be perfect.  He’ll always be the one who forgets his coffee cups around the house and I’ll always be the one with the short fuse.  But this New Years taught me how important it is to communicate with each other and also reminded me just how much I truly love him when I was so upset that his kiss wasn’t the first thing to greet me in 2011. 

So, Tony, I’m sorry that our New Year’s didn’t start off the way we were hoping.  I’d like to blame the new, red hair for turning me into a fiery little flame that night, but I know you’d just snort at that excuse.  So, instead, let me just say, I hope this year’s motto is: In like a lion, out like a lamb.  Or maybe…out WITH a lamb?   Wink, wink. 

Tony?  Get back here!

