It’s Valentine’s Day tomorrow.  Our first Valentine’s Day as a married couple, but definitely not our first rodeo when it comes to the holiday.  (11 years now, c’mon.)

In previous years we had a long-standing joke that he would always get me kitchen items.  And before you raise your pitchforks in a fury of feminist revolt, let me tell you that I actually asked for the kitchen items.  Because at some point I hadn’t already given into my natural instincts to stay far away from the kitchen.  It was during my rebellious period or something like that.

So I have a slow cooker, a mandoline and an avocado slicer sitting on some random shelf, taking up space and collecting dust.  I was into the quick fixes apparently.  Definitely not like my personality or anything.  Don’t eye roll me.

But because of our awesome wedding registry and our awesome guests who bought from said registry, we have kitchens gadgets and gizmos galore this year!   So poor Tony was left fending for himself in that harsh world of Valentine’s Day shopping.  So I took pity on him and spelled out what I wanted.  Fudge.  Chocolate fudge.  And maybe Season’s 5 of Grey’s Anatomy.

Well, the man doesn’t disappoint.  I’ve finished off the fudge and I’m already to the part where Dr. Torres and Dr. Hahn start their torrid love affair.  It’s a good man who gets his lady exactly what her little heart desires.  And he knows not to come between my heart and McDreamy.

So what did I get him?  Let me preface my gift by letting you in on a secret.  I’m the world’s best gift giver.

I know, I know, that’s not a very modest thing to say, but there’s no room for humility here.  I seriously AM the best gift giver.  Just ask him about his video game rocker chair I got him for Christmas.  He might be too busy still drooling over it to answer, though.

Back to V-Day.  Here’s the story behind the gift.  We didn’t get any cake at our wedding.  Which was the biggest bummer of the night.  If you remember from a previous post, we were both insanely excited about our cake because the cake tasting was fantastic.  After the wedding, the caterer sent us home with the top of the cake, which was chocolate.  Tony missed out on his layer of raspberry and yellow cake.  For 2 weeks straight, no lie, I endured his constant moaning over that raspberry yellow layer.  You would have thought someone stole his puppy, it was that pathetic.

So I went back to the bakery and had them re-make the middle layer.  With the raspberry cream.  They even remembered the white chocolate shavings we had on the outside of the cake.  He was thrilled, to say the least.

We’ve been living in a buttercream-induced catatonic sugar state all weekend, but…totally worth it.

P.S. – AWESOME gift giver.  Just had to throw it in one more time for emphasis.  And for modesty.

White Shaved Chocolate Wedding Cake

Our wedding cake. Props go to Front Room Photography for the photo and Delicately Delicious of Cedarburg for the cake.

